Go Back   Australian Ford Forums > General Topics > The Pub

The Pub For General Automotive Related Talk

Old 16-01-2020, 10:12 PM   #1
Jack91
FF.Com.Au Hardcore

Default Car trailers

Hi all,
Has anyone built and regod their own 3t agm car trailer? Im a boily by trade so the making of it isn't an issue, but is it hard to actually get it registered? Id probably buy plans off the net.
I just cant see $5k + to buy one, considering its probably 2 in materials, probably a lot less considering what offcuts i have access to for free.
Im only after a basic skeleton type to keep unnecessary weight down.
Thoughts? Worth doing or big headache with registration?
Jack91 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 16-01-2020, 10:16 PM   #2
Jack91
FF.Com.Au Hardcore

Default Re: Car trailers

Also, do I need to show plans? Is there engineering cert involved? I cant imagine it comes down to the old bird at the vicroads counter to pass my welds, but i have been surprised before at their incompetence
Jack91 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 16-01-2020, 11:30 PM   #3
naddis01
\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/

I made my own trailer in NSW. The process was pretty easy. The RMS has a guide to making trailers to meet their regulations. It was basically just a case of getting a VIN, blue slip and weigh bridge ticket. That's about it from memory. I assume Victoria would be similar. If you are a boily, you won't have a problem.
naddis01 is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
This user likes this post:
Old 16-01-2020, 11:49 PM   #4
hayseed

Quote:
Originally Posted by naddis01 View Post
I made my own trailer in NSW. The process was pretty easy. The RMS has a guide to making trailers to meet their regulations. It was basically just a case of getting a VIN, blue slip and weigh bridge ticket. That's about it from memory. I assume Victoria would be similar. If you are a boily, you won't have a problem.
^^^^^ What He said ^^^^^